Alison Balsom is the world’s preeminent female classical trumpeter. She is a unique and independent artist who has broken through to the mainstream whilst retaining her integrity and core musical values. Exceptional talent, a glamorous stage presence and a witty and engaging personality make Alison one of the most exciting artists in the core classical world today.

Sound the Trumpet is an album of glorious baroque music associated with royalty where Alison brings the music of the Purcell and Handel to life.

Until this point, there have been no really top notch natural trumpet albums by international trumpeters on the market. This disc expands the repertoire for the instrument, whilst also maintaining a respect for the idioms and period style of these works. Alison is working with the top experts in this field - Trevor Pinnock and the English Concert. She is also joined by the countertenor, Iestyn Davies and soprano Lucy Crowe in some delightful and slightly different performances of some familiar repertoire.


1. Handel: “Sento la gioia” from Act 3 of Amidigi di Gaula

Purcell: King Arthur Suite
2. Act 1 Overture
3. Act 1 Come if you dare
4. Act 5 Symphony
5. Act 2 Shepherd, shepherd, leave decoying
6. Act 5 Round thy shores
7. Act 5 Trumpet Tune
8. Act 5 Fairest Isle
9. Handel: Atalanta - Overture

10. Handel: Eternal Source of light divine From Birthday Ode for Queen Anne HWV 74 (published 1713) with Iestyn Davies

Purcell: The Fairy Queen - Suite of Musicks and Dances
11. Symphony
12. Rondeau
13. Jig First Act Tune
14. Act 5 prelude
15. Chaconne and chorus
16. Purcell: Sound the trumpet from Come, ye Sons of Art
(Birthday Ode composed for the birthday of Queen Mary, 30 April 1694) with Iestyn Davies

Handel: Water Piece in D major
17. Overture
18. Gigue (Allegro)
19. Minuet (Aria)
20. Bourree
21. March no. 2
22. Purcell: The Plaint from The Fairy Queen
with Lucy Crowe

Handel: Oboe Concerto No.1 in Bb major (transposed into C major)
23. Adagio
24. Allegro
25. Siciliana (Largo)
26. Vivace